Frugal Lunch Ideas: Date Scones

2015-03-15 12.53.27

Date scones are extremely easy to whip up, and so so cheap. You can use pretty much any scone recipe, but I used the one in the Edmonds cookbook.

2015-03-15 12.21.18

I diced up my dates in my little Tupperware Turbo Chef – you just stick them in, pull the cord  a few times, and theyre done in less than a minute. Mix them through your scone dough, and form into balls.

2015-03-15 12.36.43

The most basic glaze for scones is milk brushed over the tops, but cinnamon and sugar gives it a little something extra. It’s something I’ll often dust over baking, so I’ll make up a little pottle in a Snack Cup, use what I like and keep the rest for next time.

2015-03-15 12.53.38

It takes 10 mins to make the mixture, 10-15 minutes to bake – and very few dishes! A perfect quick lunch for at home or to go in the lunchbox.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

