Hospital Bag

Here’s my hospital bag, packed based on the list the Women’s Hospital gave me.

Image

In the base I folded up the blanket and put it in a plastic bag so it wouldn’t get snagged on anything. My mum put 200+ hours into making it, so I’m a bit paranoid with it!!

Image

I wasn’t sure how big baby would be when she’s born, so I divided my cotton singlets by size into small, medium and large and put them into snaplock bags. They’re all “newborn” size, but there’s such a range! Go figure~

Image

Inside each of those snaplock bags I have two or three of these:

Image

I was also advised to bring woolen singlets to layer on top of the cotton ones for insulation. These are a couple that my midwife gave me! (So grateful!) As they are ribbed they have a lot of stretch so there’s no worries that they’ll fit πŸ™‚

Image

I decided that during my hospital stay I’ll only really be using gowns rather than a range of clothes, partially due to the size question, and partially for the simplicity of nappy changing. These will go on over the top of the other two singlets as the third layer.

Image

I also put in a couple of leggings, as they have a bit of stretch in them and will add to the warmth – but also keep the nappies contained a bit if they do leak. I MUCH prefer leggings over pants.

Image

I also have this cardigan which my mum knitted for baby to go home in.

IMAG0098For accessories I put in a merino wool hat, and a few pairs of woolen socks and booties. Some of my booties are a bit big, but I thought I’d put them in anyway, in case I wanted to use the smaller ones as scratch mittens.

Image

They’re all packed up in a snaplock as well~

Image

At our hospital you have to provide your own baby wipes. They DO provide nappies while you’re there, but they want you to have one to take the baby home in.

Image

Other misc things: Nappy rash cream (this is a sample I got from my ReachMe pack, so its a nice travel size), breast pads, maternity pads (I just like the stayfree overnights so I just use them), pocket tissues for little messes, and some disposable breast pads.

The hospital also said to bring some laundry powder in case you want to do some personal washing while you’re there – and I handily had this freebie sample I got months ago~~

Image

Slippers for cold floors, a pen for filling in baby’s feed chart, and a couple bibs in case I decide I want them.Image

My toiletry bag is full of a lot of the usual. I’ve also got some Lucas PawPaw cream though, as one of my friends recommends it for both sore nipples and nappy rash.

Image

My personal clothes (which I won’t photograph…) I packed away in another plastic bag so I can whip them out and keep them separate from everything else.

Image

And there we are! It all (somehow) fits away in this bag.

Image

The only thing I’ve not packed in there yet are snacks and drink sachets, which I’ll be picking up at the supermarket over the next few weeks. There’s no doubt other things which I COULD have in there as well, but I’d rather have less than more, or I’ll end up drowning in clutter – besides, I can always send the husband out on an emergency run πŸ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hospital Bag

  1. Marilyn van Dam

    Laura Maybe 100 hours not 200. Love Mum

    On 14/02/14 12:00 PM, “Fairlight’s Life” wrote:

    > fairlightslife posted: “Here’s my hospital bag, packed based on the list the > Women’s Hospital gave me. In the base I folded up the blanket and put it in a > plastic bag so it wouldn’t get snagged on anything. My mum put 200+ hours into > making it, so I’m a bit paranoid with it!! I ” >

  2. Ineke Knuvers

    That looks all very well organised> Well done and good to have that out of the way! I would love to see an updated tummy pic!

Leave a Reply

